RC Media | RC-RSS | Video Center | shopping cartGo Shopping!

World Champion adds DHI Cup to tally

World Champion adds DHI Cup to tally

lrsun mod10finishers World Champion adds DHI Cup to tally

He’s a two time World Champion, twice European Champion and now he is a two time champion of the race which kicks of each new season of international touring car action – the DHI Cup. Holder of the title in 2006, the Tamiya Racing Factory driver took the win over Top Qualifier Alexander Hagberg with Teemu Leino completing the podium at the 9th edition of the famous Danish race.

Going into the final leg of the A-Main three drivers were still in contention for the title but Hagberg and defending champion Vicktor Wilck both had a difficult race. Hagberg’s Xray got loose on the opening lap allowing Rheinhard to pass him on the first drag down the straight, forcing the Swede wide at the first corner. This resulted in Hagberg getting swallowed up by the pack and coming out of the chicane contact with Jilles Groskamp dropped him to last position. Hagberg eventually recovered to finish fourth, enough to secure his first ever international podium finish. Wilck first had an incident with Associated team driver Christer Andersson and then Hagberg before making a driver error that resulted in a broken car and retirement after just six laps.

Having tried to stay with Rheinard in the early part of the race Leino was on the limit making a number of mistakes which allowed Groskamp to take up second in the running order while the No.2 car broke clear up front. It was now a three car battle for second with Corally driver Marc Fisher in the mix. Leino had the faster car but couldn’t find a way past his former Dutch team-mate and half way into the race made a rather forceful move at the chicane pushing the Tamiya driver out of his way. Let away with just a warning for the incident by the race director afterwards Groskamp was clearly annoyed that no penalty was given for the move which cost him a possible podium finish as he crossed the finish line in sixth. Taking his second Top 3 finish of the day Fisher was very happy with the debut of the new Corally RDX Phi 2 which claimed fourth overall.

So the curtain has closed on the ninth running of this superbly presented indoor event that once again is a credit to Kim Bendiksen and his team. 2010 will mark the 10th Anniversary of the event and already the organisers are working on plans to mark the big occassion. We look forward to returning to Denmark next January to bring you coverage of what is sure to be another great DHI Cup.

Modified A-main Leg 3 results
1. Marc Rheinard – 21 Laps in 310,54
2. Teemu Leino – 21 Laps in 311,17
3. Marc Fischer – 21 Laps in 313,70
4. Alexander Hagberg – 21 Laps in 308,36
5. Jilles Groskamp – 21 Laps in 313,41
6. Yannic Prumper – 20 Laps in 306,26
7. Steen Graversen – 20 Laps in 312,60
8. Christer Andersson – 20 Laps in 303,08
9. Jonas Kaerup – 20 Laps in 307,00
10. Viktor Wilck – 10 Laps in 154,96

Modified Overall results
1. Marc Rheinard – 20pts
2. Alexander Hagberg – 17pts
3. Teemu Leino – 17pts
4. Marc Fischer – 16pts
5. Jilles Groskamp – 13pts
6. Viktor Wilck – 10pts
7. Christer Andersson – 9pts
8. Yannic Prumper – 9pts
9. Steen Graversen – 6pts
10. Jonas Kaerup – 5pts

DHI Cup 2009 – Modified Leg 3

Source : redRC


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

One Response to “World Champion adds DHI Cup to tally”

  1. [...] Tamiya 42138 TRF416 World Edition Restock Now World Champion specification ! http://rss.rcmart.com/2009/01/world-champion-adds-dhi-cup-tally [...]

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

rcSites.com - The Best list of top RC websites